Skip to main content

Bijawar (Princely State)

0 0
Read Time:4 Minute, 23 Second
StateMadhya Pradesh
Gun Salutes11
AgencyCentral India Agency
Accession1st January 1950
Revenue₹ 225,000
Area2,520 km²
Population110,500 (1901)
Privy Purse₹ 520,000
Hindi Nameबिजावर
Last Updated12th Nov, 2021

Present Head/Ruler

HH Sawai Maharaja JAI SINGH Bahadur, 9th Maharaja of Bijawar, since 1983, born 1977.

Short History

The Chiefs of Bijawar claim their descent from Raja Chhatrasal of Panna, who divided his possessions among his sons and Peshwa Baji Rao. One share including the towns of Jaitpur, Banda, Ajaigarh and Charkhari fell to Jagat Raj, from whom the rulers of Bijawar are directly descended.

The family is Bundela Rajput; its motto is Agni pratap Vishwesha (Hindi, meaning “As fire resplendent, the Lord of the World”).

The military force consists (1905) of 23 cavalry, 52 infantry, and 9 artillery men with 5 serviceable and 7 unserviceable guns.

The Chief is entitled to a salute of 11 guns, which was finally approved in Her Majesty’s Order in Council, dated the 26th June 1867.


  • Hem Karan of Banaras (1048)
    • Raja Rudra Pratap, 1st Raja of Orchha (see Orchha)
      • Kunwar Kirat Shah
      • Kunwar Bhupat Shah
      • Raja Bharti Chand, 2nd Raja of Orchha (see Orchha)
      • Raja Madhukar Shah, 3rd Raja of Orchha (see Orchha)
      • Kunwar Anand Das
      • Kunwar Chandan Das
      • Kunwar Durga Das
      • Kunwar Ghanshyam Das
      • Kunwar Prayag Das
      • Kunwar Bhairon Das
      • Kunwar Khande Rai
      • Kunwar Udyajitya, married and had issue.
        • Ragho Das
        • Kosi Das
        • Ganga Das
        • Hridaya Narayan
        • Bharti Chandra
        • Prem Chandra, married and had issue.
          • Kunwar Sen
          • Kunwar Bhagwan Das, married and had issue.
            • Champat Rai, married and had issue.
              • Raja Chhatrasal of Panna, married and had issue.
                • Bharti Chand, Diwan of Jaso (see Jaso)
                • Jagat Raj, Raja of Jaitpur, married and had issue.
                • Pahar Singh, married and had issue.
                • Padam Singh, Rao of Jigni (see Jigni)
                • Harde Shah
          • Man Shah, ancestor of the Satgharia branch, including the Garrauli family (see Garrauli).
  • Raja BIR SINGH DEO, 1st Raja of Bijawar 1765/1793, gradually extended his holdings by force of arms. When Ali Bahadur invaded Bundelkhand, Bir Singh Deo refused to acknowledge his supremacy, and fell, gallantly fighting, near Charkhari. He married and had issue. He died 1793.
    • Yuvaraj Dhaunkal Singh, died vpsp.
    • Raja Keshri Singh (qv)
    • Kunwar Khuman Singh, died after 1804.
  • Raja KESHRI SINGH, 2nd Raja of Bijawar 1802/1810. Raja Himmat Bahadur of Banda made interest with Ali Bahadur on behalf of Keshri Singh, and procured for him his father’s possessions on the same terms as those subscribed by the Raja of Charkhari. He married and had issue, four sons. He died 1810
    • Raja Ratan Singh (qv)
    • Kunwar Khet Singh, married and had issue.
      • Raja Lakshman Singh (qv)
    • Kunwar Shatrujit Singh
    • Kunwar Maharaj Deo
  • Raja RATAN SINGH, 3rd Raja of Bijawar 1810/1833, received a sanad from the British Government in 1811, and subscribed to a deed of allegiance; he instituted state coinage. He died without male issue on 17th December 1833, and at the request of his widow, his nephew, Lakshman Singh, son of Khet Singh, who waived his claim, was recognized.
  • Raja LAKSHMAN SINGH, 4th Raja of Bijawar 1833/1847, married and had issue.
    • HH Maharaja Sawai Bhan Pratap Singh Bahadur (qv)
  • HH Maharaja Sawai BHAN PRATAP SINGH Bahadur, 5th Maharaja of Bijawar 1847/1899, born 24th December 1842, succeeded 23rd November 1847, granted a valuable khilat and a hereditary salute of eleven guns for his help to the British, during the Indian Mutiny in 1857, he was granted a sanad of adoption in 1862 and the titles of Maharaja [cr.1866] and Maharaja Sawai [cr.1877], but his maladministration placed the state into financial difficulties and an administrator was appointed in 1897, he adopted Rao Raja Sawant Singh, second son of the Maharaja Pratap Singh Ju Deo of Orchha in 1898, married and had adoptive issue. He died sp 1899.
    • (A) HH Bharat Dharmendra Maharaja Sawai Sir Sawant Singh Bahadur (qv)
  • HH Bharat Dharmendra Maharaja Sawai Sir SAWANT SINGH Bahadur, 6th Maharaja of Bijawar 1899/1940, born 25th November 1877, ascended the Gadi in 1899, K.C.I.E. [cr.1911], married 1stly, a daughter of Panwar Diwan Raghuraj Singh of Sonrai in Jhansi district, married 2ndly, 1913, a daughter of Dhandera Diwan Gajraj Singh Judeo Parmar, a Jagirdar in Datia State [HH Maharani Kanchan Kunwar, sister of Rao Hira Singh Ju Dev of Karahia (maternal grandfather of Rajkumari Anjana (Bundela) (née Rajniesh Singh) of Ajaigarh)], and had issue, two daughters, an adoptive son, as well as further issue. He died spl 30th October 1940.
    • Maharajkumari (name unknown) (by 1st marriage), married 1910, Rao Lokendra Singh of Beri, and had issue.
    • Kunwar Aman Singh
    • (A) HH Maharaja Sawai Govind Singh Bahadur (qv)
  • HH Maharaja Sawai GOVIND SINGH Bahadur, 7th Maharaja of Bijawar 1940/1983, born 17th June 1934, son of Kunwar Malkhan Singh of Lakhanguwan and descendant of Raja Bir Singh Deo, 1st Raja of Sarila, married HH Maharani Mohini Kumari, daughter of HH Maharana Raj Saheb Pratapsinhji Amarsinhji of Wankaner, and his wife, HH Maharani Rama Kunverba Sahiba, and had issue. He died 9th July 1983 in New York.
    • HH Maharaja Sawai Jai Singh Bahadur (qv)
  • HH Maharaja Sawai JAI SINGH Bahadur, 8th Maharaja of Bijawar (see above)

About Post Author

Royal Archives

Royal Archives aims to create, stimulate and maintain awareness amongst the general public about the importance of India’s royal heritage and of the importance of preserving the heritage and culture for the benefit of future generations.
0 %
0 %
0 %
0 %
0 %
0 %